44th president of the United States

After a long and difficult election season, I think it’s only just to take a moment to congratulate our president-elect. I didn’t vote for him, and I disagree with him fundamentally on many issues, but I do respect him, will pray for him, and am ready to lend my support to any initiatives that are truly worthy of the human person.

I think Mark Shea’s post gets it right.

The ascendancy of an African-American to the presidency is an historic achievement. So is the ability to mobilize so much energy and vision in a cynical age.

Congratulations, Barack Obama. And God bless America.

3 thoughts on “44th president of the United States

  1. <>“The ascendancy of an African-American to the presidency is an historic achievement. So is the ability to mobilize so much energy and vision in a cynical age.”<>I agree with the former, but as for the the latter, I’ll leave it to God in judging his means and intentions in doing so. We should respect Obama and all human beings; as we are all loved profoundly by, and created in the image of God. We should and need to respect and pray for Obama as a human being and world leader. I may be wrong on this, but I’m not sure it’s appropriate for me to congratulate a man who has put himself in a position to bring further condemnation unto himself by lifting all state restrictions on the killing of the innocents, who also happen to be profoundly loved by, and created in the image of God. You have a good heart.God Bless

  2. I’ll share my thoughts about the means, and the reasons, for his ascendancy later.Just trying to stay with the one thought, one post format.

Leave a Reply

